In Case You’re Wondering about My New Facebook Account…

Yes, I’ve created a new Facebook account; the last one was created over ten years ago, and time for a change was upon me.

The landscape of Facebook has changed over the years; what were once endearing pages to like and follow have accrued to mostly clogging my feed and being generally too numerous to delete individually. Sometimes even I’m surprised by pages I’ve liked in the past.

Facebook is, of course, neither good nor bad in and of itself; as with most tools, the virtue and vice are relative to its use.

So much has changed in the past year for me that I needed a fresh start. I need a place to show my art, to post about philosophy, to bring the best of myself to the world, to make my small corner of the world better.

Unfortunately, after the U.S. election of 2016 and its result, I lost my inner equilibrium; I plunged into despair and had to confront any number of issues within myself and the world around me. I lost friends and family, but I don’t mourn them; instead, I celebrate the open space for new connections and relationships!

It’s taken months for me to regain my muse and my will to go on; the inner resistance has arisen, and it’s time for me to make my contribution by inspiring and stabilizing the people near me.

So the new Facebook won’t have arguments on it about politics and religion. I have my views; I’m willing to sit down and discuss them with anyone that’s game. But I’m not going to talk about it on Facebook posts anymore.

If it’s any consolation, I’m no longer on Twitter for the same reason. It was a constant barrage of people upset over the political landscape of the USA; what I do miss are the people who were able to accurately diagnose the problems (sucha s white supremacy), but I don’t miss the people so caught up in their ideology that they don’t take time to realize some practical realities that are right in front of them.

Look forward to my art. Encourage me. Buy some of it. That really encouraged me. (Thanks, Michelle.)

Time to be happy.

Steve

Leave a Reply

