Of Video Games, Zelda, and a Birthday, Part 1

I got The Legend of Zelda: Triforce of the Gods 2 for my birthday.

I got the original game, The Legend of Zelda: Triforce of the Gods for my 7th birthday, when I was first grade.

Except that it looked like this:

It was a Super Nintendo game, and I think the second Super Nintendo game that I owned.

Believe me, we got the money’s worth of the Super Nintendo, and I think it helped my parents, too, because my younger brother and I could entertain ourselves for HOURS playing video games.

This is the point where all the idiot American parents barge in and start giving pseudo-intellectual advice about fresh air and interacting with your children and blah blah blah…

Let me tell you something, those video games aren’t just mindless garbage; they have mythology and narrative driving them. They drove huge amounts of creativity in me, my brother, and my cousins. We grew up knowing entirely other worlds and imagining other characters in them and how they would interact with the main characters, how the main characters would react to those characters.

Video games in my life have never been about “just entertaiment.”

So, about the names…

The game in question that I got was called The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past and today’s game is called The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. Notable is that the main character in the game is named “Link.”

The name “Zelda” refers to the princess in the game, and she’s actually named after Zelda Fitzgerald. I think the name had something to do with being exotic or unusual.

One funny thing related to getting that original Zelda game at age 7 is that my first grade teacher had us write in our journals daily. I had just learned the word “Sanctuary” (from playing The Legend of Zelda!!!), and I wrote some story about Link sailing away to the Sanctuary…all on my birthday.

The teacher was shocked, and even told my mother she was shocked, that I didn’t write about my birthday.

But the thing is, writing about my birthday wasn’t really a creative thing- it was just a fact of reality, I was 7 that day. I preferred creating things. What could I possibly say about turning 7? What could possibly be important?

I’ll write more about my birthday in the next entry.

Steve

 

 

Leave a Reply

