Eat My Pasty Experience

Husband and I ventured to Eat My Pasty yesterday after our friend wrote an article about the restaurant. You can read the article here.

So, naturally, as I had heard a story many years ago from a college professor about seagulls stealing her pasty, I’d always wanted to try one.

The word is pronounced with an “a” as an “apple” or “bath.” Say, “pasty,” now, and you’ve got it.

Pasties are basically an ancient and more delicious version of the Hot Pocket- meat pies, in other words, and so good. So very, very good.

I also ordered Fish and Chips because I’d never had real British Fish and Chips.

12924573_10154730360817519_3342117099208204810_n.jpg

The star of the Fish and Chips is the batter on the fish. It’s completely unlike anything I’ve ever tasted in the USA. The fish itself was juicy and tender but otherwise unremarkable, and I think I tried to eat it before it was cool enough. I remarked to Husband afterward that I would prefer it having been “Chicken and Chips” if I had my way.

Of course, they do offer a similarly battered sausage, so I might try that next time.

Then came the pasty!

12920320_10154730366312519_4495570748288522585_n.jpg

The pasty was the real star of the show here. There are many varieties, and I went with the Traditional Cornish Pasty as this was my first time.

This pasty includes “skirt steak, potatoes, onion and swede (rutabaga) simply seasoned with salt & pepper” according to the website, which can be found here. 

The rich taste reminded me much of being at my grandfather’s house when I was a child. If you’re a fan of any kind of stuffed sandwich or even things like burritos and calzones, chances are you’ll enjoy the pasty.

Not pictured here is the coleslaw, which would’ve been a runner-up. It came with the Fish and Chips and was the best coleslaw I’ve ever had.

If you’re on the fence about Eat My Pasty, go ahead and jump in. Give it a few tries, try different pasties and see what you think. They’re bound to have something you like.

Eat My Pasty is located at  280 S Arnold Road in Panama City Beach, Florida. They can be found on Facebook through their website. I can’t wait to go back.

Steve

Leave a Reply

