An Intense Spiritual Experience

One of my most intense and humbling spiritual lessons was taught to me by a black man that I didn’t know whatsoever. I was visiting friends at a trailer park, and we went outside to sit with the neighbors under the night sky. An older black man sat across from me, and he spoke to me, telling me about life, saying,

“I don’t know what it’s like to be gay, and you don’t know what it’s like to be black. But in this world, people are going to come at you and try to knock you down for being different. So I tell you this, this is what you do: STAND YOUR GROUND. No matter what happens, STAND YOUR GROUND.”

Of all the preachers, teachers, prophets, mystics, gurus, saints, and so on who have ever said anything AT me, none of them have ever seemed to be the Voice of God, the Mouthpiece of the Absolute Itself, speaking directly TO my soul the way that man did.

For a moment, if only briefly, looking into his eyes, I could see that something from Beyond was speaking to me, that he was not himself, and I was not myself, and instead there was this strange, intense echoing of Reality back and forth that was being exchanged in an effort to piece together some cosmic puzzle and destroy the weird delusion we humans have about ourselves in our everyday lives.

I was humbled and awestruck because the advice was so simple (and for many people obvious) but meant so much to me personally, being the doormat for so many people that I have been and continue to be at times.

I have no idea who that man was, what his name is, if he’s still alive. But by God, his words still send shivers through my body to this day.

Steve

Leave a Reply

