If Only Good Things Came to Us as Easily as Spam…

Spam, as in junk email, is one of those strange and disappointing aspects of life where we have an abundance of something that’s absolutely useless.

Spam was one of the original challenges we discovered when my family first acquired the internet in 1997. At that point in time, I’m not sure “Junk Mail Folders” existed; thus, all the mail, spam included, came to the inbox and filled it up.

It does create the question of how spam can be so absolutely plentiful. Why is it that quality emails are so far and far in between for most of us, but we can get a junk mail folder full within only a week or so? Why can’t the Spam Gods use their powers of pushiness and annoyingness for the sake of the Good?

Let me tell you something, the fastest way to turn me off to virtually anything is to shove it in my face and tell me that I should buy it or like it. Products and their qualities should speak for themselves. No, I don’t need your terrible credit card or your discount of phone service or a club membership to something I’ve never heard of.

In fact, I’ve had authors do this on Facebook as well- authors who printed a certain number of books and then began to harass me to buy them each time they had a new set of printing of the books. I would kindly decline and finally had to block one such author because, simply put, that’s not how one sells a book.

You know who I have bought from? Authors with whom I’m friends who mentioned they had written books and had put their books up for sale on Amazon.com and showed pictures of themselves sitting with the hardcopies at various events.

Because I wasn’t harassed or told the books were “going fast” and so on again and again.

Anyway, if we could all get our act together and work together, we could probably pool our respective powers for the sake of What Is Good and make the world an infinitely better place. The challenge is cracking a few necessary technological codes that make technology infinitely easier to manipulate and develop. The ease of developing technology then increases itself exponentially, though there does often come the cost of sacrificing certain aspects of culture for this.

Lately, I’ve wondered if technology isn’t the main reason that cultures die out. How much of a culture is contingent upon the use of certain kinds of technology along with rituals and lore that grew out of that technology? And at what point in time does technology not just make something easier but actually become better than the “traditional” way of doing something?

For instance, to what degree is bread made by hand superior than bread made by a machine if we remove factors like potential contamination and so on? Or would the bread made by the machine be superior? This is where things get curious. Is it possible to do a taste test to determine which is preferred, and would that mean it was always ultimately subjective?

It’s difficult to determine.

I don’t know, is my posting my blog on Facebook the same thing as being all like “LOOK AT ME LOVE ME READ ME” and so on? Some might think so, but I simply post, and if people read, they read. It’s up to me to keep my readers informed that I have in fact made an entry.

One day, I’ll write down all the lectures that I walk around the house giving to myself and to the dogs. And one day, I’ll get to writing the Few Very Important Blogs that I will ever write to make a few points that are generally ignored by our present-day culture.

Steve

 

Leave a Reply

